How to Defeat Writers Block

Every writer has had writers block at least once in their career. Whether its a new book idea you are stuck on or it’s the last chapter and you can’t quite grasp the ending you want. Usually, when I get writers block it is because I have slipped into depression and have no motivation to write at all more or less any new ideas flowing through me. So you may ask, how do I defeat writers block? How do I find the motivation to start writing again or to continue a piece I have given up on?

The answer is not the same for everyone and it might not be so simple. Research suggests that if you get stuck with writers block, take yourself away from the situation and focus on something different. Read a book, go for a walk, take a coffee break, listen to some music, just something to get you out of your head. All of that sounds good and all but what has worked for me? What are some tried and true ways that I’ve come out of writers block?

Time. Time is something that no one wants to wait for, but for me the best cure for writers block is time away from your project. WAIT! You’re a writer and you’re saying not to write? No. Never stop writing, the moment you stop writing is the moment you’ve failed your craft. I’m not saying “don’t write.” I’m saying, move on to another project. Try some writing prompts. There are plenty of writing prompts for sale on amazon and there are also some free ones out there as well.

Writing prompts can help you come up with new and exciting ideas and they are a huge benefit to writers block because they give you an idea already and all you have to do is add on and expand them to form a story. In turn this could lead you to some pretty exciting new ideas for your old project, or maybe even an idea for a new project.

The Takeaway: When writers block swoops in, don’t let it discourage you. Take some time away from your project. Focus on self-care and maybe try a writing prompt or two.

Published by Hayley Timmons

I am an author of two poetry books, a working lyricist and a freelance children's writer. I struggle with High Functioning Autism, Bipolar Disorder, severe OCD and severe anxiety. Speaking about my issues or at least owning them took me a long time. I was ashamed and was afraid of being labeled. However, with strength from my parents and support of my family and the right treatment plan for me, I am happy to say that my future looks bright.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started