The Beating of A Heart

What is a beating heart? Is it just muscle and tissue that pumps blood throughout the body to insure that we survive? Or is it much more than that? Our hearts are made to be filled with love and joy, but it is also made to feel heartache and pain. Some may think that our hearts are meant to break. We tend to give our hearts easily to those who we think we can trust. Yet, sometimes in return our hearts are so carelessly discarded. We, as humans, can feel things so deeply that it feels as though our hearts are breaking. Sometimes we might even fear that we may succumb to it. This thought in itself is so frightening that we will do anything to mend the pain.

5 weeks. They say at 5 weeks a baby’s heart beats for the first time. 5 short weeks of gestation and a little pitter…patter…pitter…patter…begins to beat deep inside the mother’s womb. The best part? The mother doesn’t even notice or feel the little beat deep inside her. Within the heart’s chamber blood is pumping. Your little one now has life.

I recently found out I am 5 weeks pregnant. As excited as I am, I am also terrified. What will the future hold for our little one? Every parent wants to protect their child with their life. Protect them from harm. As excited as I am to learn that my little one now has life, I am also terrified as to what pains might now cross it’s little heart. Every parent hopes their child grows up and falls in love and experiences the best of the world. But, I know that that’s not always the case. Their hearts are going to get broken. Of course, we are going to make sure they are going to experience the good in life, but I fear that they are also going to experience the bad, which in itself is unavoidable, yet still frightening as a parent. No parent wants their child to experience pain and heartache, but of course, that’s life. Pain strengthens us, while love shapes us.

So, my question to you is, what’s the meaning of a beating heart? Is it just a power source for our growing bodies or much more? If you were to ask me, I’d say, a beating heart is like a lighthouse, shining through the darkest storms. Always on, Always beating. Always guiding you to your destination. You just have to open your eyes and follow the light, for in your heart is where the truth never lies. Where love never fails, and where life truly begins.

Published by Hayley Timmons

I am an author of two poetry books, a working lyricist and a freelance children's writer. I struggle with High Functioning Autism, Bipolar Disorder, severe OCD and severe anxiety. Speaking about my issues or at least owning them took me a long time. I was ashamed and was afraid of being labeled. However, with strength from my parents and support of my family and the right treatment plan for me, I am happy to say that my future looks bright.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started