Using Fiverr for freelance illustrations

You have just finished writing the next best-selling children’s book. You have decided to self-publish as traditionally publishing just isn’t the right fit for you. You have a great story in hand, but alas no illustrations. Where can you find someone to illustrate your book? If you are like me and do not have a ton of money then a professional illustrator is out of the question…or is it?

Over the years I have tried many forms of illustrators from college art students, to my brother the tattoo artist. However, nothing seemed to compare to the talent and price of a fiverr artist. Not only was I able to illustrate my first children’s book in under a year with as little as $35 per illustration, but I was also able to fund the process as I went. The fiverr artists I worked with was outstanding. Her creativity and attention to detail were to die for and she catered everything to what I needed in my story. The best part? If I did not like something she fixed it right then and there, no months of waiting for a second draft to come in my inbox. Below you will find just one of our many illustrations we worked on together for my children’s book: Melt Away Village.

Look at the detail, the richness, and the overall format. This fiverr illustrator did a great job, and to think this 2 page spread only cost $35! Now, I’m no mathematician but that’s a great deal for such a talented artist.

Okay, so I have persuaded you to try fiverr out. Where do you find the right illustrator that’s a good fit for you? Well, it’s simple, sign up for fiverr and under the buyer tab, you can search for illustrators that match your preferences and needs. Still, aren’t sure what your preferences are? Well now is a good chance to start looking through other children’s books that you love and see what their style of illustrations is. Does anything catch your eye? Do you lean more towards sketches than full-color illustrations? Keep all of that in mind while you are reading and soon you’ll be on your way to your very own illustrated book in no time!

http://www.fiverr.com

Published by Hayley Timmons

I am an author of two poetry books, a working lyricist and a freelance children's writer. I struggle with High Functioning Autism, Bipolar Disorder, severe OCD and severe anxiety. Speaking about my issues or at least owning them took me a long time. I was ashamed and was afraid of being labeled. However, with strength from my parents and support of my family and the right treatment plan for me, I am happy to say that my future looks bright.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started