Maybe, Just Maybe, I’d Soar

Have you written something lately and have just been totally disgusted? Have you had doubts about what you’ve written? I can say that I have. I am not confident at all when it comes to my writing, especially when I have just come out of writer’s block. How am I supposed to know what I write is any “good” or up to any certain “standard?” The truth is, there is no standard when It comes to writing. Writers write from their heart and sometimes the rawness shows. Sometimes there are no perfect edges and sharp, crystal metaphors or spectacular wording. Sometimes it’s just raw pain and angst hidden in the message.

When I put pen to paper I am traveling the world with my thoughts. I am putting every ounce of fear and pain and happiness down into that piece of paper that sometimes it’s hard to fight the urge to let go. Let it all spew out like a running faucet. Whose to say that if I did what I write would be “Terrible?” Whose to say that if I opened up and let my true colors shine that It’d be “horribly misplaced and mistaken by the world around me?” Maybe if I were to actually open up to the world and let my true words flow beyond the glitzy glamor of precision and proper I’d actually connect with someone, other then myself. Maybe, just maybe, I’d soar.

Published by Hayley Timmons

I am an author of two poetry books, a working lyricist and a freelance children's writer. I struggle with High Functioning Autism, Bipolar Disorder, severe OCD and severe anxiety. Speaking about my issues or at least owning them took me a long time. I was ashamed and was afraid of being labeled. However, with strength from my parents and support of my family and the right treatment plan for me, I am happy to say that my future looks bright.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started