There’s An Elephant in The Garden

There’s an elephant in the garden

Whose tusks are white as snow

His eyes are a crystal black

That begs me not to go

He towers high above me

His foot big enough to crush

Yet he sits gently down

For he is in no rush

His trunk extends towards me

As he explores my scent

His gentle touch brushes my hair

And as quick as it came, it went

I dare to inch forward

Ready to run if I must

But as I touch his rough skin

He doesn’t make a fuss

Instead he lets out a trumpet

A cry of sweet release

For before that very moment

He’s never known such peace

Its hard to imagine his pain

For the years were not kind

But he never gave up hope

No, it never crossed his mind

For all the pain he suffered

This beast who many kill

He never stopped dreaming

Of how freedom would feel

Yet today as I hold him

As sturdy as he might seem

I know inside he’s thinking

This is just another dream

Lifting his head, he looks at me

His motions clear and driven

He gently nods and disappears

Like all has been forgiven

If the elephant can forgive

Those who have done him wrong

Then why to all my past mistakes

Am I still holding on?

the elephant in the garden

whose wounds were deep and sore

taught me how to be strong

and how to live once more.

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Published by Hayley Timmons

I am an author of two poetry books, a working lyricist and a freelance children's writer. I struggle with High Functioning Autism, Bipolar Disorder, severe OCD and severe anxiety. Speaking about my issues or at least owning them took me a long time. I was ashamed and was afraid of being labeled. However, with strength from my parents and support of my family and the right treatment plan for me, I am happy to say that my future looks bright.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started