Bucket List For Writers

Everyone has things they want to do before they kick the bucket. So, why doesn’t everyone have a bucket list? While I don’t know the answer to that question, I do know that a writer NEEDS a bucket list. But why?

Writers tend to spend a lot of time planning and thinking of new ideas. But have you ever thought of the long term and short term goals you’d like to achieve? Perhaps you want to publish a novel before you die? Heck maybe publish six and become New York Times Next Best Seller?

Well here are just a few things on my bucket list as a writer.

A page from my personal Bucket list.
Another page from my personal bucket list.

Above are two pictures of my personal bucket list. You may not see a lot of writing goals listed but they are scattered throughout the book as I wrote as I thought of them.

If you are looking for some ideas for your own writing bucket list here are a few I have on mine:

  • Finish a novel/ poetry book/ children’s book etc…
  • Have a book launch
  • Get asked for my autograph
  • Have a book signing
  • Get first royalty check from my book.
  • Publish my work on amazon
  • Go to a book festival or book fair
  • Attend a writers conference
  • Win a writing contest
  • Have my work published in a magazine
  • Query an agent
  • Try my hand at self-publishing
  • Learn to network
  • Be asked to speak at a writing event.
  • Join a writing group
  • Attend a writers retreat
  • Pitch my book on Twitter pitmad.
  • Build an author website
  • Make business cards
  • Take a writing course
  • Build up my social media
  • Have fans who love my work
  • Become a best seller on amazon
  • Get a writing critique
  • Beta read someone else’s work.
  • Try freelance

Those are just a few ideas that you can add to your writing bucket list. The list doesn’t have to be long or fancy. You can put anything you want on it, decorate it, staple it to your mirror to see every morning or hide it under your pillow and tell no one. The choice is yours.

Every writer should have a list of goals. They can be as out of the box as you wish them to be. Just Write. Them. Down. Trust me!

Published by Hayley Timmons

I am an author of two poetry books, a working lyricist and a freelance children's writer. I struggle with High Functioning Autism, Bipolar Disorder, severe OCD and severe anxiety. Speaking about my issues or at least owning them took me a long time. I was ashamed and was afraid of being labeled. However, with strength from my parents and support of my family and the right treatment plan for me, I am happy to say that my future looks bright.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started