Did You Start writing For Passion or Money?

Everyone who writes has a story to tell about how and why they first picked up a pen. Many of us started when we were young and grew up loving the art of writing. However, some of us were forced into our passions by outside sources. My story is simple. I grew up writing and have always loved it. When I got old enough I started selling my writing online as a freelance ghostwriter and I started entering contests.

I have been a freelance writer for some years now and can say without a doubt that some of my best writing has been for paid projects. Does that mean I will completely stop writing for myself? No. It just means that I focus most of my time on my freelance work at the moment, but that can always change. Life is everchanging and so is my writing schedule. I balance my day to day life with my writing life and together they become one.

My story is not long, drawn out, or special. But maybe yours is. So, today I ask the question. Did you start writing for money or passion?

Published by Hayley Timmons

I am an author of two poetry books, a working lyricist and a freelance children's writer. I struggle with High Functioning Autism, Bipolar Disorder, severe OCD and severe anxiety. Speaking about my issues or at least owning them took me a long time. I was ashamed and was afraid of being labeled. However, with strength from my parents and support of my family and the right treatment plan for me, I am happy to say that my future looks bright.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started