Comparing OwlCrate to Scribbler box for writers

I love subscription boxes. Absolutely love them. There’s something about getting a package in the mail that always gets me. I look forward to it every time.

With that being said today I am going to compare the two subscription boxes I have recently come across and let you know what I think.

Scribbler:

First, is the Scribbler box. The scribbler company describes itself as being a subscription box for writers by writers. As a writer myself I had to check it out.

Scribbler box unopened.

Above you can see the scribbler box in question. With nice packaging and a nice little box, opening it should be full of wonderful surprises as it alludes to, shouldn’t it?

Contents of Scribbler box.

For $29.99 you can get a monthly subscription to Scribbler. Above are the contents of the September box. This box included:

  • A new book (This month it was Divine Lola)
  • A utility clip
  • Chapstick
  • A sheet of stickers
  • An inside look pamphlet
  • A beautiful kill your darlings photo card
  • And the monthly passport.

Scribbler, being for writers, each month comes with a passport that covers a different topic. All of the topics covered relate to writing and how to write better and become more engaging with your audience. Each month also comes with an inside look at the book of the month and a opportunity to hear from someone in the writing field.

For $29.99 it’s really not a bad deal if you are a struggling writer trying to make it. While this months box wasn’t my favorite and for me lacked a bit of spunk, some have reviewed the September box as their favorite so far, so it’s all about taste.

To subscribe to scribbler you can go here: https://www.goscribbler.com/subscribe

OwlCrate

Second, on the list for review today is the OwlCrate box. OwlCrate is a Young adult Book Subscription box that sends you bookish goodies through the mail along with a new book every month.

OwlCrate Box Unopened.

For $32.99 + shipping you can subscribe to get an OwlCrate box every month. OwlCrate is a little pricier then Scribbler but the items inside the box seemed to be well worth the money.

I also received September’s box for OwlCrate and I have to say that it is one of my favorites out of the few past boxes I have purchased.

Inside September’s OwlCrate box I received:

  • A new book (This months was Lakes Edge)
  • 2 magnet photo frames
  • A set of 4 coasters
  • A nice ceramic autumn themed mug
  • A candle pin
  • A wooden page holder
  • And a nice ink bottle and pen set.

My favorite thing out of the OwlCrate box has to be the ink bottle and pen set. It reminds me of back in the old days when they had to write with quills dipped in ink. Such a nostalgic piece.

Although I have received the young adult book option of OwlCrate a subscriptions there is another option called OwlCrate Jr. for people who are a bit to young for young adult but would also like a subscription box, which I think is a really cool option to offer.

To subscribe to OwlCrate or OwlCrate Jr. or to check out there past boxes you can go here: https://www.owlcrate.com

Published by Hayley Timmons

I am an author of two poetry books, a working lyricist and a freelance children's writer. I struggle with High Functioning Autism, Bipolar Disorder, severe OCD and severe anxiety. Speaking about my issues or at least owning them took me a long time. I was ashamed and was afraid of being labeled. However, with strength from my parents and support of my family and the right treatment plan for me, I am happy to say that my future looks bright.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started